UK funding year · 2021
2021 UK funding rounds
118 disclosed startup and growth-company rounds are retained for this year. Amounts remain in 3 reported currencies; no FX conversion or undisclosed-amount estimate is applied.
| Date | Company | Stage | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021-12-16 | Aztec | Series A | $17M | Paradigm, a_capital, Ethereal Ventures, Libertus Capital, Variant Fund, Nascent, imToken, Scalar Capital, DeFi Alliance, IOSG Ventures, ZK Validator, plus angels including Vitalik Buterin and Stani Kulechov | Coindesk ↗ |
| 2021-12-14 | Genasys | Growth | £12.25M | Frog Capital | UKTN ↗ |
| 2021-12-13 | Bumper | Series A | $12M | Autotech Ventures, Porsche Ventures, InMotion Ventures | Finsmes ↗ |
| 2021-12-01 | Sorted | Series C | $40M | Chrysalis Investments Limited, Arete Capital Partners | Sorted ↗ |
| 2021-11-23 | Crowdcube | Series C | £10M | Circle Internet Financial, Molten Ventures, Balderton Capital | Tech.eu ↗ |
| 2021-11-23 | Ieso Digital Health | Series B | $53M (£39M) | Sony Innovation Fund, IP Group, Molten Ventures, Ananda Impact Ventures · 1 additional source-listed | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-11-22 | Cognitive Credit | Series A | £6M (also reported €7.1M — same round, different currency conversion, not a separate raise) | Fitch Ventures (the equity-investment arm of Fitch Group — independently confirmed genuine, not a source error, despite superficial resemblance to credit-ratings agency Fitch Ratings), XTX Ventures, Pentech Ventures, "several industry insiders" | PR Newswire ↗ |
| 2021-11-17 | Ultraleap | Series D | £60M (~$82M) | Tencent, British Patient Capital, CMB International, Mayfair Equity Partners, IP Group | PR Newswire ↗ |
| 2021-11-14 | Mimica | Series A | £4.4M (~$6M) | Khosla Ventures, not further itemized in sources found | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-11-11 | Ometria | Series C | $40M | InfraVia Growth, Octopus Ventures, Sonae IM, Summit Action, Adjuvo · +1 more linked | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-11-04 | Intelligent Growth Solutions (IGS) | Series B | £42.2M | COFRA AG, Cleveland Avenue, DC Thomson, Ospraie Ag Science, S2G Ventures · +2 more linked | PR Newswire ↗ |
| 2021-11-02 | Permutive | Series C | $75M | SoftBank Vision Fund 2, EQT Ventures, Octopus Ventures, ACE & Company | Tech.eu ↗ |
| 2021-11-01 | Attio | Seed | $7.7M | Point Nine, Balderton Capital, Headline, Passion Capital | Attio ↗ |
| 2021-11-01 | Callsign | Series C | £35M (~$47M) | Forgepoint Capital, Accel | Crunchbase ↗ |
| 2021-11-01 | Motorway | Series C | $190M (£142M) | Index Ventures, ICONIQ Growth, Latitude, Unbound, BMW i Ventures | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-11-01 | Quell Therapeutics | Series B | $156M | Jeito Capital, Ridgeback Capital Investments, SV Health Investors, Fidelity Management & Research Company, Syncona | PR Newswire ↗ |
| 2021-10-27 | Attest | Series B | $60M | NEA, Kismet, Oxford Capital, Episode 1 | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-10-26 | LandVault (formerly Admix) | Series B | $25M | Elefund, Notion Capital, Speedinvest · 7 additional source-listed | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-10-19 | Zopa | Growth | £220M (~$300-303M) | SoftBank Vision Fund 2, Chimera Abu Dhabi, Northzone, Augmentum Fintech · 2 additional source-listed | Zopa ↗ |
| 2021-10-18 | Allplants | Series B | £38M (~$52M) — biggest-ever Series B for a European plant-based brand at the time | Draper Esprit, The Craftory, TriplePoint Capital, Felix Capital, Octopus Ventures | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-10-13 | 9fin | Series A | £8M | Redalpine, Fly Ventures, Ilavska Vuillermoz Capital | PR Newswire ↗ |
| 2021-10-13 | Bicycle Therapeutics | Follow-on offering | $175M | Not stated | Gov ↗ |
| 2021-10-11 | Elliptic | Series C | $60M | Evolution Equity Partners, SoftBank Vision Fund 2, J.P. Morgan, AlbionVC, Digital Currency Group · +5 more linked | Elliptic ↗ |
| 2021-10-06 | Huboo | Series B | £60M (also reported as $81.4M-$82M) | Mubadala Capital, Stride.VC, Ada Ventures, Hearst Ventures, Episode 1 Ventures · +1 more linked | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-10-04 | Stable | Series A | $46.5M | Greycroft, Notion Capital, Anthemis · 3 additional source-listed | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-10-01 | Additive Manufacturing Technologies | Series B | $15m | Foresight Williams, DSM Venturing, Saint-Gobain · 1 additional source-listed | Tracxn ↗ |
| 2021-10-01 | Beacon | Series B | $50M+ | Northstar.vc, Upper90, 8VC, Expa, Jeff Bezos · +1 more linked | Beacon ↗ |
| 2021-10-01 | Nothing | Series A extension | $50M | Not stated | Tech ↗ |
| 2021-10-01 | Risilience | Series A | £6M | IQ Capital | Risilience ↗ |
| 2021-09-28 | ContractPodAi | Series C | $115M (Crunchbase lists $144M for the round) | SoftBank Vision Fund 2 | PR Newswire ↗ |
| 2021-09-28 | Lifebit Biotech | Series B | $60M | Tiger Global Management, Eurazeo, Pentech Ventures, Beacon Capital | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-09-24 | Prodigy Finance | Debt facility | £550 million (also reported as ~$750 million) | CPP Investments (Canada Pension Plan Investment Board), None named | Businesscloud ↗ |
| 2021-09-22 | Cloudsmith | Series A | $15M | Tiger Global, MMC Ventures · 6 additional source-listed | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-09-22 | Sunamp | Series B | £6M | Scottish National Investment Bank | Sunamp ↗ |
| 2021-09-16 | Tyk | Series B | $35M | Scottish Equity Partners (SEP), MMC Ventures (existing investor) | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-09-15 | Accurx | Series B | £27.5M (~$38M) | Lakestar, British Patient Capital, Latitude, Atomico, Trusted Insight · +1 more linked | Medium ↗ |
| 2021-09-15 | Matillion | Series E | $150M (£108.45M) | General Atlantic, Battery Ventures, Sapphire Ventures, Scale Venture Partners, Lightspeed Venture Partners | Generalatlantic ↗ |
| 2021-09-15 | Touchlight | Series B (extended round) | $125m (£92m) aggregate | Bridford Investments Limited, Novator Partners (joined for the September 2021 extension), Network of ultra-high-net-worth individuals, family offices and specialist healthcare investors (not individually named in press) | Touchlight ↗ |
| 2021-09-14 | Envelop Risk | Series B | $130m (£94m) | SoftBank Vision Fund 2, Alpha Intelligence Capital, Integra Partners, MS Amlin, Plug and Play Insurtech | Enveloprisk ↗ |
| 2021-09-14 | MyTutor | Series B | £15M | SEEK Investments, Mobeus Equity Partners | Info ↗ |
| 2021-09-08 | PolyAI | Series B | $14M | Khosla Ventures, Point72 Ventures, Amadeus Capital Partners, Passion Capital, Entrepreneur First · 1 additional source-listed | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-09-07 | Elvie | Series C | £70M / $97M (total incl. extension; initial tranche £58M/$80M) | BGF, BlackRock Private Equity Partners, Hiro Capital, Westerly Winds, Octopus Ventures · +1 more linked | Business Wire ↗ |
| 2021-09-07 | Marshmallow | Series B | $85m | Passion Capital, Investec, Scor | Cnbc ↗ |
| 2021-09-05 | Olio | Series B | $43M | VNV Global, Lugard Road Capital / Luxor Capital, Accel, Octopus Ventures, Rubio · +3 more linked | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-09-02 | Arqit Quantum | SPAC merger/Nasdaq listing | $96M (net, after heavy redemptions; headline structure was up to $400M) | Centricus Acquisition Corp, Virgin Orbit, Sumitomo Corporation | PR Newswire ↗ |
| 2021-09-01 | Beauty Pie | Series B | $100M | Index Ventures, Insight Partners, Balderton Capital, General Catalyst, Latitude | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-09-01 | Isotropic Systems (rebranded All.Space) | Series B | $37m+ (Sept 2021 additional close); ~$40m prior close Feb 2021 | Seraphim Space Investment Trust, SES, Orbital Ventures, Boeing HorizonX Global Ventures, Space Angels · +1 more linked | Space ↗ |
| 2021-09-01 | PetMedix | Series B | £27M | Digitalis Ventures, Parkwalk Advisors, Tencent, Kyoritsu Holdings, Cambridge Innovation Capital | UKTN ↗ |
| 2021-09-01 | TrueLayer | Series E | $50M (extension; total Series E $180M) | Northzone, Tencent, Tiger Global, Temasek, Stripe | Finovate ↗ |
| 2021-08-31 | Peak (Peak AI) | Series C | $75M | SoftBank Vision Fund 2, MMC Ventures, Oxx, Praetura Ventures, Octopus Ventures · +1 more linked | Peak ↗ |
| 2021-08-26 | Cazoo | SPAC/NYSE listing | $1bn+ (net, vs $1.605bn announced) | Ajax Capital Acquisitions Corp | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-08-25 | Oddbox | Series B | £16M | Burda Principal Investments, Mercia Asset Management · 1 additional source-listed | Info ↗ |
| 2021-08-24 | Plentific | Series C | $100m | Highland Europe, Brookfield Asset Management, Mubadala | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-08-23 | Monolith (Monolith AI) | Series A | £8.5M | Insight Partners, Pentech, Touchstone, Alejandro Agag, Apex Black · +1 more linked | Monolithai ↗ |
| 2021-08-16 | Ultromics | Series B | $33M | Blue Venture Fund, Optum Ventures, GV, Oxford Sciences Innovation | PR Newswire ↗ |
| 2021-08-05 | Hopin | Series D | $450M | Arena Holdings, Altimeter Capital, Andreessen Horowitz, General Catalyst, IVP · +8 more linked | Tech.eu ↗ |
| 2021-08-01 | Condeco | PE growth investment | undisclosed | Thoma Bravo, JMI Equity | Condecosoftware ↗ |
| 2021-08-01 | InfoSum | Series B | $65M | Chrysalis Investments | Infosum ↗ |
| 2021-08-01 | Reactive Technologies | Series C | $15m | BGF, Breakthrough Energy Ventures, Eaton | Eaton ↗ |
| 2021-07-28 | Patchwork Health | Series A follow-on | £3.5M | Praetura Ventures · 1 additional source-listed | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-07-27 | Element (Matrix / Element.io) | Series B | $30M | Protocol Labs, Metaplanet, Automattic, Notion Capital | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-07-27 | Sedna | Series B | $34M | Insight Partners | UKTN ↗ |
| 2021-07-14 | Robin AI | Seed | £1.75M ($2.5M) | Episode 1 · 1 additional source-listed | Robinai ↗ |
| 2021-07-13 | Quantexa | Series D | $153M (£110M) | Warburg Pincus, Dawn Capital, AlbionVC, Evolution Equity Partners, HSBC · +2 more linked | Quantexa ↗ |
| 2021-07-07 | Wise | Direct Listing (London Stock Exchange) | N/A — no new capital raised (direct listing of existing shares only); market value >GBP 8B / $11B on debut | N/A (direct listing, not an underwritten IPO) | Cnbc ↗ |
| 2021-07-01 | Excel Esports | Other / ambiguous | EUR20M (GBP17M) | JRJ Group, Alan Howard family office, TNF Investments · 1 additional source-listed | Esportsinsider ↗ |
| 2021-07-01 | Snappy Shopper | Series B | £19.4M (PayPoint tranche £6.6M) | PayPoint, Highland Tech, Justin King, Maven Capital Partners, Kelvin Capital · +1 more linked | UKTN ↗ |
| 2021-07-01 | Soldo | Series C | $180M | Temasek | Soldo ↗ |
| 2021-07-01 | Yapily | Series B | $51M | Sapphire Ventures, Lakestar, HV Capital, Latitude | Yapily ↗ |
| 2021-06-25 | ClearScore | Growth | $200M | Invus Opportunities, QED Investors, Blenheim Chalcot, Lead Edge Capital | Business Wire ↗ |
| 2021-06-17 | Beamery | Series C | $138M | Accenture Ventures, EQT Ventures, Index Ventures, M12, Workday Ventures · 1 additional source-listed | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-06-16 | Apollo Therapeutics | Series B | $145M | Patient Square Capital, Rock Springs Capital, Reimagined Ventures, UCL Technology Fund | Business Wire ↗ |
| 2021-06-14 | Immersive Labs | Series C | $75M | Insight Partners, Menlo Ventures, Citi Ventures, Goldman Sachs Asset Management | Privateequitywire ↗ |
| 2021-06-10 | Hokodo | Series A | $12.5M | Notion Capital, Anthemis · 2 additional source-listed | Business Wire ↗ |
| 2021-06-03 | Origami Energy | Series C | £20m ($29.2m) | Aggreko, Octopus Ventures, Cambridge Innovation Capital · 1 additional source-listed | UKTN ↗ |
| 2021-06-01 | Ably | Series B | $70M | Insight Partners, Dawn Capital, Triple Point, Digital Horizon, Forward Partners · +1 more linked | Ably ↗ |
| 2021-06-01 | Divido | Series B | $30m | HSBC, ING, Sony Innovation Fund, SBI Investment, DN Capital · +3 more linked | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-06-01 | Enough (formerly 3F Bio) | Series B | €42M (~$51M) | Nutreco, AXA IM Alts, HAL Investments, Tailored Solutions · 1 additional source-listed | UKTN ↗ |
| 2021-06-01 | ManyPets (Bought By Many) | Series D | $350m (£279.9m) | EQT Growth, Willoughby Capital, FTV Capital, Octopus Ventures, CommerzVentures · +1 more linked | Eqtgroup ↗ |
| 2021-06-01 | OakNorth Bank | Series C | Undisclosed | SoftBank Vision Fund, GIC | Tracxn ↗ |
| 2021-05-25 | Fnatic | Series B (Crunchbase's canonical tag for this round) | $17M | Marubeni Corporation, International family offices, institutional investors, plus venture debt from Bootstrap | Fnatic ↗ |
| 2021-05-25 | Tessian | Series C | $65M | March Capital, Accel, Balderton Capital, Latitude, Sequoia Capital · +1 more linked | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-05-19 | Causaly | Series A (second round using the same label — a genuinely distinct dated event, not a duplicate) | $17M (also reported £12M) | Index Ventures, Marathon Venture Capital, Pentech Ventures, EBRD Venture Capital | Causaly ↗ |
| 2021-05-19 | ComplyAdvantage | Series C | $20M extension (brought total Series C to $70M; original $50M closed July 2020) | Index Ventures, Balderton Capital · 2 additional source-listed | Complyadvantage ↗ |
| 2021-05-18 | Copper.co | Series B | $50M | Dawn Capital, MMC Ventures, LocalGlobe · 2 additional source-listed | Copper ↗ |
| 2021-05-18 | Healios | Series A | £7M ($10M) | AlbionVC · 1 additional source-listed | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-05-12 | Lyst | Series E | $85M | Fidelity International, Novator Partners, C4 Ventures, Accel, Balderton · +2 more linked | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-05-10 | Zencargo | Series B | £30M (~$42M) | Digital+ Partners, HV Capital | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-05-06 | Darktrace | IPO | £165.1M | Not stated | Cnbc ↗ |
| 2021-05-01 | Faculty AI | Series B | £30M (~$42.5M) | Apax Digital Fund, LocalGlobe, GMG Ventures | Faculty ↗ |
| 2021-05-01 | Panaseer | Series B | $26.5M | AllegisCyber Capital, Evolution Equity Partners, Notion Capital, AlbionVC, Cisco Investments · +2 more linked | Panaseer ↗ |
| 2021-04-15 | Cado (Cado Security) | Series A | $10M | Blossom Capital, Ten Eleven Ventures | Business Wire ↗ |
| 2021-04-06 | MPB | Series D | £49.8m (~$69.1m) | Vitruvian Partners, Acton Capital, Mobeus Equity Partners, Beringea, FJ Labs | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-04-01 | Exscientia | Series D | $225M equity (plus up to $300M SoftBank commitment; up to $525M total) | SoftBank Vision Fund 2, Novo Holdings, BlackRock, Mubadala Investment Company, Farallon Capital · +5 more linked | UKTN ↗ |
| 2021-04-01 | Nory | Pre-seed | $2M (~£1.5M) | Playfair Capital · 2 additional source-listed | Tech.eu ↗ |
| 2021-04-01 | Teya (formerly SaltPay) | Series C | $500m | Hedosophia, Tiger Global | Sifted ↗ |
| 2021-04-01 | TrueLayer | Series D | $70m | Addition, Connect Ventures, Mouro Capital, Northzone, Temasek · 1 additional source-listed | Fintechfutures ↗ |
| 2021-03-24 | what3words | Growth | £14M | Ingka Investments, ITV plc | Ingka ↗ |
| 2021-03-23 | nPlan | Series A | $18.5M (£13.43M) | GV (Google Ventures), LocalGlobe, Pentech Ventures, Entrepreneur First, Sir Ian Davis (individual, former McKinsey & Co managing director) | Info ↗ |
| 2021-03-09 | Zego | Series C | $150M | DST Global, General Catalyst, Balderton Capital | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-03-03 | Cutover | Series B | $35M | Eldridge, Index Ventures, Sussex Place Ventures, Contour Ventures, Partnership Fund for New York City · +1 more linked | Siliconangle ↗ |
| 2021-03-01 | Freetrade | Series B | $69m | Left Lane Capital, L Catterton Growth, Draper Esprit | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-02-22 | VivaCity Labs | Series A | £5m | Mobeus Equity Partners, Downing Ventures, London Co-Investment Fund (existing investors) | Vivacitylabs ↗ |
| 2021-02-17 | Peak (Peak AI) | Series B | $21M | Oxx, MMC Ventures, Praetura Ventures, Arete | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-02-01 | Evox Therapeutics | Series C | £69.2M | Redmile Group | Evoxtherapeutics ↗ |
| 2021-02-01 | Nothing | Series A | $15M | GV | Tech ↗ |
| 2021-02-01 | Vortexa | Series B | $19M | monashees | Vortexa ↗ |
| 2021-01-27 | Token.io | Series B | $15M | SBI Investment Co. Ltd, Sony Innovation Fund by IGV, Octopus Ventures, EQT Ventures, Opera Tech Ventures | Tech.eu ↗ |
| 2021-01-21 | Omnipresent | Series A | $15.8M | Episode 1 Ventures, Playfair Capital · 1 additional source-listed | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-01-17 | Deliveroo | Pre-IPO | $180M | Fidelity Management and Research Company, Durable Capital Partners, Amazon | Tech.eu ↗ |
| 2021-01-12 | Snowplow | Series A2 | $10M (£7.36M) | Atlantic Bridge, MMC Ventures | PR Newswire ↗ |
| 2021-01-11 | Curve | Series C | $95M | 5 additional source-listed | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-01-01 | Bloom & Wild | Series D | £75M (~$102M) | General Catalyst, Index Ventures, Novator, Latitude, D4 Ventures · +1 more linked | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2021-01-01 | Form3 | Series C | $160M | Lloyds Banking Group, Nationwide Building Society, Barclays, Mastercard, 83North · 1 additional source-listed · +1 more linked | Tech ↗ |
| 2021-01-01 | Genomics plc | Series B | £33M total (£25M initial + £8M second close) | 1 additional source-listed | Genomics ↗ |
| 2021-01-01 | MUBI | Growth investment | Undisclosed | Summit Partners | Summitpartners ↗ |
| 2021-01-01 | Nothing | Seed | $7M | Tony Fadell, Casey Neistat, Kevin Lin, Steve Huffman | Tech ↗ |
| 2021-01-01 | Oxbury Bank | Series B | £20M | Wheatsheaf Group, Frontier Agriculture, Hutchinsons Group | Grosvenor ↗ |