UK funding year · 2023
2023 UK funding rounds
69 disclosed startup and growth-company rounds are retained for this year. Amounts remain in 2 reported currencies; no FX conversion or undisclosed-amount estimate is applied.
| Date | Company | Stage | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023-12-18 | Octopus Energy | Growth | $800m | Generation Investment Management, CPP Investments, Tokyo Gas · 1 additional source-listed | Energy ↗ |
| 2023-12-01 | Huboo | Series C | £29M (~$34M) | Mubadala, Episode 1 Ventures, Maersk Growth · 1 additional source-listed | UKTN ↗ |
| 2023-12-01 | Pragmatic Semiconductor | Series D | £182m (~$231m) | M&G Catalyst, UK Infrastructure Bank / National Wealth Fund, Northern Gritstone, Latitude, MVolution Partners · +3 more linked | Pragmaticsemi ↗ |
| 2023-11-27 | ZeroAvia | Series C | $116m (extended to $150m) | Airbus, Barclays Sustainable Impact Capital, NEOM Investment Fund, UK Infrastructure Bank, Breakthrough Energy Ventures · +7 more linked | Zeroavia ↗ |
| 2023-11-20 | nDreams | Acquisition (full buyout by Aonic) | £90.3M enterprise value (~$110M) | 1 additional source-listed | Mercia ↗ |
| 2023-10-01 | CMR Surgical | Series D | $600m (2021 Series D); $165m (2023 follow-on, existing investors only) | SoftBank Vision Fund 2, Ally Bridge Group, Cambridge Innovation Capital, Escala Capital, LGT · +4 more linked | Sifted ↗ |
| 2023-10-01 | Globacap | Series B | $21M | Moore Strategic Ventures, Cboe Global Markets, GABI Ventures, QBN Capital · 1 additional source-listed | Finsmes ↗ |
| 2023-10-01 | Space Ape Games | Other / ambiguous | $37M | Supercell | Gamedeveloper ↗ |
| 2023-09-27 | Perenna | Series B | $52.18m | Silverstripe Investment Management, IAG Capital Partners, Ranger Investment Management | Fintechfutures ↗ |
| 2023-09-13 | Treefera | Pre-seed | $2.2M | Concept Ventures, Twin Path Ventures, January Ventures, Greg Lavender (angel) | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2023-09-06 | Apollo Therapeutics | Series C | $226.5M | Patient Square Capital, Rock Springs Capital | Business Wire ↗ |
| 2023-09-01 | Butternut Box | Series E | £280M (~$354M) | General Atlantic, L Catterton | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2023-09-01 | HiBob | Series D | $150M | General Atlantic | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2023-09-01 | Open Cosmos | Series B | $50m | ETF Partners, Trill Impact, A&G, Accenture Ventures, Banco Santander InnoEnergy Climate Tech Fund · +1 more linked | Open Cosmos ↗ |
| 2023-09-01 | Sitryx Therapeutics | Series B | $39M / £32M | Oxford Science Enterprises, SV Health Investors, Eli Lilly, Sofinnova Partners, Longwood Fund · +1 more linked | Svhealthinvestors ↗ |
| 2023-09-01 | Zenobe Energy | Growth | c.£870m (c.£600m from KKR + c.£270m from Infracapital) | KKR, M&G's Infracapital, Pantheon Infrastructure · 1 additional source-listed | Zenobe ↗ |
| 2023-08-16 | Phasecraft | Series A | £13 million (~$16.5 million) | Playground Global, AlbionVC, Episode 1, Parkwalk Advisors, London Co-investment Fund · +1 more linked | Phasecraft ↗ |
| 2023-07-27 | ev.energy | Series B | $33m | National Grid Partners, Aviva Ventures, WEX Venture Capital, Energy Impact Partners, Future Energy Ventures · 1 additional source-listed · +1 more linked | PR Newswire ↗ |
| 2023-07-21 | Prodigy Finance | Debt facility (asset-backed, multi-issuance SPV) | $350 million | Citi (Citibank), Schroders Capital, SCIO Capital | Ca ↗ |
| 2023-07-18 | Tractable | Series E | $65M | SoftBank Vision Fund 2, Insight Partners, Georgian | Tractable ↗ |
| 2023-07-17 | OrganOx | Growth round (aggregators label this 'Series D') | £25M (reported as $32.6-32.7M) | Lauxera Capital Partners, Existing investors (not individually named in the release) | Globenewswire ↗ |
| 2023-07-17 | Sylvera | Series B | $57M | Balderton Capital, Index Ventures, Insight Partners, Salesforce Ventures, Speedinvest · +5 more linked | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2023-07-13 | Causaly | Series B | $60M | ICONIQ Growth, Index Ventures, Marathon Venture Capital, EBRD Venture Capital, Pentech Ventures · +2 more linked | Causaly ↗ |
| 2023-07-12 | Bicycle Therapeutics | Follow-on offering | $200M | Not stated | Business Wire ↗ |
| 2023-07-01 | Secret Escapes | Growth equity / recapitalization (third-party aggregators label this 'Series E2') | £32M | syndicate of existing shareholders and lenders, Chrysalis Investments (>£6.5M), Jupiter Asset Management, Seligman Private Equity Select, SquareOne Venture Capital, Stride.VC | Travelweekly ↗ |
| 2023-07-01 | Sedna | Growth (post-Series-B) | $42M | Insight Partners | Sedna ↗ |
| 2023-06-27 | Dexory | Series A | $19M | Atomico, Lakestar, Kindred Capital, Maersk Growth · 1 additional source-listed | Dexory ↗ |
| 2023-06-20 | ElevenLabs | Series A | $19M | 7 additional source-listed | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2023-06-12 | tem. | Seed | £2.5M | AlbionVC, Revent, Christian Deger (angel) | Capital ↗ |
| 2023-06-06 | GetHarley | Series B | $52M / £42M | Index Ventures, Headline, Visionaries Club, Village Global | Info ↗ |
| 2023-06-02 | Habito | Series D | undisclosed | Volution, Augmentum Fintech, Bootstrap Europe, SBI Investment | Tracxn ↗ |
| 2023-06-01 | Nothing | Growth | $96M | Highland Europe | Tech ↗ |
| 2023-06-01 | Volt | Series B | $60M | IVP, CommerzVentures, EQT Ventures, Augmentum Fintech, Fuel Ventures | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2023-05-23 | Builder.ai | Series D | $250M | Qatar Investment Authority, Jungle Ventures, Insight Partners · 2 additional source-listed | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2023-05-17 | Nivoda | Series A | $11M (one aggregator lists $11.8M) | Headline, Abstract Ventures, Entrepreneur First, Operator Partners, RiverPark Ventures | Retail Jeweller ↗ |
| 2023-05-16 | Kensa | Growth | £70m | Legal & General Capital · 1 additional source-listed | Energy ↗ |
| 2023-05-01 | Adarga | Series B | $20M | BOKA Group, Foxglove Capital, PUBLIC Group International, Allectus Capital, Moore Strategic Ventures | Adarga ↗ |
| 2023-05-01 | OMass Therapeutics | Series B | £75.5M (extended with further £10M from British Patient Capital, 2023) | GV, Northpond Ventures, Sanofi Ventures, Syncona, Oxford Science Enterprises · +2 more linked | UKTN ↗ |
| 2023-04-03 | LandVault (formerly Admix) | Series B (extension) | $3M | 4 additional source-listed | Tech.eu ↗ |
| 2023-04-03 | Quantexa | Series E | $129M | GIC, Warburg Pincus, Dawn Capital, British Patient Capital, Evolution Equity Partners · +4 more linked | Tech.eu ↗ |
| 2023-04-01 | Hometree | Series B | $46m | 2150, Energy Impact Partners, Legal & General Capital, Aenu, Inven Capital · +2 more linked | Hometree ↗ |
| 2023-03-31 | Monica Vinader | Majority growth-equity investment (PE, Series-C+ equivalent) | Not disclosed | Bridgepoint Development Capital IV · 1 additional source-listed | Bridgepointgroup ↗ |
| 2023-03-28 | EDITED | Growth round (unlettered — not a confirmed 'Series C') | $15M | Delta-v Capital, Wavecrest Growth Partners, Beringea, Hermes GPE (existing, follow-on) | Business Wire ↗ |
| 2023-03-16 | Seldon | Series B | $20M (£16.5M) | Bright Pixel, AlbionVC, Cambridge Innovation Capital, Amadeus Capital Partners | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2023-03-13 | APEXX Global | Series B | $25M (~£20.8M) | MMC Ventures, Alliance Ventures, Forward Partners (existing investors, increased stakes) | Global ↗ |
| 2023-03-09 | Cado (Cado Security) | Series B | $20M | Eurazeo, Ten Eleven Ventures | Securityweek ↗ |
| 2023-03-02 | Attio | Series A | $23.5M | Redpoint Ventures, Balderton Capital, Point Nine | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2023-03-01 | Indra Renewable Technologies | Series B | £20M (~$24M) | Gulf Oil International, Clean Growth Fund | Consultancy ↗ |
| 2023-03-01 | Piclo | Series B | £8.3m | Future Energy Ventures, Clean Growth Fund, Green Angel Syndicate, Toshiba Energy Systems & Solutions, Sustainable Future Ventures · +1 more linked | Piclo ↗ |
| 2023-02-27 | Flock | Series B | $38m | Octopus Ventures, CommerzVentures, Social Capital, Dig Ventures, Anthemis · +1 more linked | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2023-02-27 | Robin AI | Series A | $10.5M | Plural, Episode 1 · 1 additional source-listed | Tech.eu ↗ |
| 2023-02-22 | DrDoctor | Series B | £10M | YFM Equity Partners, Ananda Impact Ventures, 24 Haymarket | Htn ↗ |
| 2023-02-16 | VivaCity Labs | Growth round (classified 'Series B' by Crunchbase/Tracxn/PitchBook per search summaries; not so labeled by primary press directly fetched) | £7m ($8.5m) | ENV (EnBW New Ventures), Foresight Group, Gresham House Ventures (existing investors) | Vivacitylabs ↗ |
| 2023-02-09 | Coincover | Series B | $30M | Foundation Capital, CMT Digital | Coindesk ↗ |
| 2023-02-01 | CyberSmart | Series B | £12.75M (~$15M) | Oxx, British Patient Capital, IQ Capital, Eos Venture Partners, Legal & General Capital · +2 more linked | UKTN ↗ |
| 2023-02-01 | Risilience | Series B | $26M | Quantum Innovation Fund | Risilience ↗ |
| 2023-02-01 | Zopa | Growth (inside round) | £75M (~$93M) | Augmentum Fintech · 2 additional source-listed | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2023-01-31 | Doctify | Series B | $10M | Beringea, Keen Venture Partners, Amadeus Capital Partners, Guinness Ventures | UKTN ↗ |
| 2023-01-16 | Arctic Shores | Series B | £5.75M | Praetura Ventures, Calculus Capital, Beringea | UKTN ↗ |
| 2023-01-10 | Oxa | Series C | $140M | BGF, Halma, Hostplus, Ocado Group, Tencent · 1 additional source-listed · +3 more linked | Tech ↗ |
| 2023-01-10 | Peppy Health | Series B | $45M / £37.1M | AlbionVC, Kathaka, MTech Capital, Simplyhealth, Sony Innovation Fund · +4 more linked | TechCrunch ↗ |
| 2023-01-01 | Crescendo Biologics | Series C | $32M (tranche; total raised to date $274M) | Sofinnova Partners, Andera Partners, IP Group, BioNTech, Takeda · 1 additional source-listed · +2 more linked | Cambridgeindependent ↗ |
| 2023-01-01 | Envisics | Series C | $100m (raised across tranches in 2023; first tranche $50m Mar 2023) | Hyundai Mobis, M&G Investments, Stellantis, GM Ventures, Tarsadia Investments · 1 additional source-listed · +1 more linked | Tech.eu ↗ |
| 2023-01-01 | Field | Growth | £200m | DIF Capital Partners, LocalGlobe, Plural | Sifted ↗ |
| 2023-01-01 | GeoPura | Series B | £56m (incl. £30m from UK Infrastructure Bank) | Barclays Sustainable Impact Capital, GM Ventures, SWEN Capital Partners, Siemens Energy Ventures, UK Infrastructure Bank | Geopura ↗ |
| 2023-01-01 | Grey Wolf Therapeutics | Series B | £39.5M | 2 additional source-listed | Sifted ↗ |
| 2023-01-01 | Pulmocide | Series C | £42.9M | 1 additional source-listed | Sifted ↗ |
| 2023-01-01 | Skin + Me | Series B | £10M (~€11M) | Octopus Ventures | Beautymatter ↗ |
| 2023-01-01 | Superscript | Series B | £45m | BHL UK | Lifeinsuranceinternational ↗ |